Situated on a hill at 350 m above sea level, Acquasparta dominates the valley of the Naia river, a tributary of the Tiber river. Because of its mineral waters Amerino and Furapane , this is at very pleasant place to stay.
Probably, Acquasparta was founded as a Roman pagus on the Flaminia Road: here the Roman troups stopped to refresh themselves because of the abbundance of water, and because of its vicinity to the road. The remains of a Roman bridge, on which the church of , constructed in the 15th century and already at that time property of the Knights of Malta had been erected, support this thesis. Without doubt, the most important building inside the town is the dating back to the Renaissance and beautifully preserved. Planned in 1564 by Gian Domenico Bianchi, and probably finished at about 1579, the palace was the seat of the prestigious Accademia dei Lincei, and also the residence of Duke Federico Cesi.
Today, exhibitions and meetings are held in the palace. The church of San Francesco, simple and charming with its Romanic-Gothic architecture typical of the Francescan churches in Umbria, the church of the Madonna of the Lily (or of the Cross), constructed in 1606, the church of St. Cecily, reconstructed in about the 15th century above another church dating back to the 13th century, and the church of the Sacred Sacrament,which is a minor jewel of 17th century architecture, with an important Roman mosaic incorporated inside in its pavement, are all of particular interest. The representation of the Living Theater in the historical town center is a tradition of Acquasparta which is much followed (held at Christmas, at the New Year and at the feast of the Epiphany).